First XI

WCC 1st XI 2019
Back Row (L-R) Ross Edwards (Coach), James Flynn, Sam Topper, Matt Denver, Stewart Black, Steve Brooks, Dan Vaughan, Nigel Green (Scorer)
Front Row (L-R) Josh Pistorius, Matt Stinson, Wendell Wagner (Captain), Dan Lloyd, Matty Simmonds

Wellington Cricket Club’s first team play in the Premier Division of the Shropshire County Cricket League. They previously played in the Birmingham and District Cricket League but were relegated at the end of the 2018 season. They are working to regroup and look to push back into the Birmingham League having consolidated their team in the 2019 season.

The first team is led by Wendell Wagner who is the longstanding First XI Captain. Wendell can be contacted by phone on 07538 858540.

Due to Covid-19 restrictions during the 2020 season, the SCCL have had to establish an alternative season for 2020. The original league has now been split into two groups for the Henshalls SCCL Premier Division. These have been named in honour of two titans of the Shropshire County Cricket League – Mike Robinson and Clive Smith. Wellington 1st XI will play in the Mike Robinson Group.

Fixtures will start on Saturday July 25th, with 10 fixtures in total (including August Bank Holiday Monday).

The winner of each of the two groups will then face off against each other at a Neutral Ground on Saturday 26th September (Sunday 27/09/20 as the reserve date) to decide the 2020 Henshalls SCCL Premier Division Champion.

Rules, fixtures and playing conditions are to be published in due course.

All First XI 2020 matches start at 12pm.

SCCL Premier Division | Mike Robinson Group League Table