Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Wellington Cricket Club

View

U15s Reach County Final

1 year ago By David Ross

Wellington's youngsters overcame Knockin to book their place in the Shropshire Cup final.

By Steve Pitchford

Having lost the toss and asked to field at Knockin, the U15s fielded exceptionally well and held some good catches. After a solid start from Knockin, Wellington managed to keep the opposition to 118-5 off 20 overs. Harrison Peel-Jones (2-16 off 4 overs) and Patrick Ward-Clayton (3-18 off 4 overs) were the pick of the bowlers.

In reply the opening partnership of Luke Goring and Patrick Ward-Clayton commanded the opposition bowlers. Goring hit the sixes off one over before having to retire unbeaten on 50 - an excellent knock. Opening partner Ward-Clayton finished 46* as the U15s reached 120-1 off just 12.5 overs.

They now go on to final where they will play the winners of Bridgnorth or Wem.

Updated 10:33 - 3 Jul 2017 by David Ross

Where next?

Wellington Go On The Counter Attock The 1st XI won their first league match since April at a baking-hot Orleton Park on Saturday afternoon.
U15s Make County Final Wellington's Juniors beat Knockin by nine wickets on Thursday to reach the Shropshire Cup final.

Comments

Loading comments

5 sports clubs amongst winners in the Jewson Building Better Communities competition.

Fixtures
Sun 15 Jul
h
League 10:30
Tue 17 Jul
h
League 18:30
Wed 18 Jul
h
League 18:00
h
League 18:30
a
League 18:30
Thu 19 Jul
a
Wellington Ladies Shifnal CC - Womens 1st XI
League TBC
Sat 21 Jul
h
League 12:00
a
League 12:30
h
League 13:00
a
League 13:00
Sun 22 Jul
a
League 13:00
h
League 13:00
Mon 23 Jul
a
League 18:00
Tue 24 Jul
a
Wellington Ladies Sentinel CC - Womens 1st XI
League TBC
Wed 25 Jul
h
League 18:30
Sat 28 Jul
h
League 12:00
a
League 12:30
a
League 13:00
h
League 13:00

Affiliations

Club sponsors